Menu Menu
DE | EN
Strategic forecasting and segmentation as a prerequisite for a resilient supply chain

Strategic forecasting and segmentation as a prerequisite for a resilient supply chain

The customer

Our partner, a leading company in the construction industry, focuses on innovation and forward thinking. For more than 70 years, it has been extremely successful throughout Europe in the development, production and marketing of building systems. The group employs staff in 22 countries worldwide. High-quality products are manufactured at locations in Germany and Austria.

The group realised early on that every customer has different requirements and the supply chain must align with these needs. Under the principle ‘Every customer comes first’, silo thinking and troubleshooting along the logistics chain are taboo for this future-oriented group, whose supply chain has been customised for future market requirements and qualitative growth.

 

Optimal inventory through segmentation and innovative S&OP forecasting

The construction industry is characterised by short-term decisions, in addition to weather-related seasonality. Although the products themselves are becoming increasingly complex and sophisticated, suppliers are expected to be able to deliver at high level with pressure on margins. Together with Supply Chain Minds, the processes along the supply chain were analysed and segmented according to products and customer requirements. In addition to large trading companies, craft businesses are also among the customers. For the former, there is a longer lead time until actual delivery and fixed delivery dates are common practice. Large quantities are ordered, but there are often customer-specific customisations of the standard products. Craft enterprises however usually need the desired goods at short notice. In the course of product segmentation, product groups which were more complex were assigned to a particular customer segment. In this way, a trading company can also deliver, for example, sensitive aluminium products to the end customer in the desired quality through specialised logistics.

                                   

 

In addition to improved operational detailed planning, segmentation enables timely production. The goods are stored where they are expected to be called upon quickly. Fast reaction times are ensured.

 

Digitalisation and the human component

To transfer existing data into detailed production planning, the Supply Chain Minds team analysed  the data and worked with the customer’s project team to create the specification to select a suitable planning tool.

"The best tool is ineffective if you don't keep the employees in mind. That's why the human factor has to be considered sufficiently in every implementation and organisational adjustment," reports Gregor Gluttig, Managing Partner at TenglerGluttig.

Since every change also has an impact on the organisation, clear roles and responsibilities must be defined in addition to adapting processes. It is not only in this case study that sales is organised by national organisations and must be made aware of the necessity of Sales & Operation Planning (S&OP).

"In this project, too, our external view led to a paradigm shift in the company. It was a matter of convincing long-standing employees – and no doubt absolute experts in their field – of S&OP and the accompanying contemporary planning logic," continues Gluttig.

Today, sales planning is determined in regular S&OP meetings and compared with production possibilities. A specially created supply chain department has been integrated into the organisation, where changes in sales are proactively anticipated.

*On Time and In Full

Uniform reports and key figures prevent production bottlenecks. An S&OP plan supported by management leads to reduced inventories, optimal utilisation of production and, ultimately, to a resilient supply chain.



< back to overview

Menu Menu
DE | EN
Strategisches Forecasting und Segmentierung als Voraussetzung für eine resiliente Supply Chain

Strategisches Forecasting und Segmentierung als Voraussetzung für eine resiliente Supply Chain

Der Kunde

Unser Partner, ein Traditionsunternehmen aus der Baubranche, setzt auf Innovation und vorausschauendes Denken. Seit mehr als 70 Jahren ist er europaweit in der Entwicklung, Produktion und Vermarktung von Bausystemen überaus erfolgreich. Die Firmengruppe beschäftigt Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter in 22 Ländern weltweit. Hochwertige Produkte werden an Standorten in Deutschland und Österreich gefertigt.

Unser Kunde hat frühzeitig erkannt, dass jeder Kunde andere Anforderungen hat und damit auch die Supply Chain auf die jeweiligen Kundenbedürfnisse ausgerichtet werden muss. Unter dem Motto „Jeder Kunde ist der wichtigste!“ sind Silo-Denken und Troubleshooting entlang der Logistikkette für den zukunftsorientierten Konzern ein Tabu. Deswegen wurde dafür gesorgt, die Supply Chain für zukünftige Marktanforderungen und qualitatives Wachstum fit zu machen.

 

Optimaler Bestand durch Segmentierung und innovatives S&OP-Forecasting

Die Bauindustrie ist neben der wetterbedingten Saisonalität durch kurzfristige Entscheidungen geprägt. Die Produkte selbst werden nebenbei immer komplexer und ausgefeilter. Trotzdem wird von Lieferanten eine hohe Lieferfähigkeit erwartet. Der Druck auf die Margen ist hoch. Gemeinsam mit den Supply Chain Minds wurden die Prozesse entlang der Supply Chain analysiert und diese nach Produkten und Kundenanforderungen segmentiert. Neben großen Handelsunternehmen zählen auch Handwerksbetriebe zu den Abnehmern. Bei ersteren ist eine längere Vorlaufzeit bis zur tatsächlichen Lieferung gegeben, fixe Liefertermine sind Usus. Dabei wird in großen Mengen bestellt, es kommt aber häufig zu kundenspezifischen Anpassungen der Standardprodukte. Handwerksunternehmen benötigen die gewünschte Ware meist kurzfristig. Im Zuge der Produktsegmentierung wurden komplexere Produktgruppen einem gewissen Kundensegment zugeordnet. So kann ein Handelsunternehmen beispielsweise auch sensible Aluminiumprodukte durch eine spezialisierte Logistik in der gewünschten Qualität beim Endkunden zustellen.

                                        

 

Neben der verbesserten operativen Feinplanung ermöglicht die Segmentierung eine fristgerechte Produktion. Die Ware wird dort gelagert, wo sie voraussichtlich bald abgerufen wird. Schnelle Reaktionszeiten sind sichergestellt.

 

Digitalisierung und die menschliche Komponente

Um die vorhandenen Daten in eine Produktionsfeinplanung zu überführen, haben die Supply Chain Minds diese analysiert und aufbereitet. Gemeinsam mit dem Projektteam des Kunden wurde ein Lastenheft erstellt und es mündete in der Auswahl des geeigneten Planungstools.

„Das beste Tool bleibt wirkungslos, wenn man dabei nicht an die Mitarbeiter denkt. Deswegen ist bei jeder Implementierung und organisatorischen Anpassung der Faktor Mensch ausreichend zur berücksichtigen. “, berichtet Gregor Gluttig, Managing Partner bei TenglerGluttig.

Nachdem jede Umstellung unterschiedliche Einflüsse auf die Organisation hat, sind neben der Anpassung der Prozesse klare Rollen zu definieren und Verantwortlichkeiten festzulegen. Nicht nur in unserem Beispiel wird der Vertrieb über Länderorganisationen organisiert und ist für die Notwendigkeit von S&OP (Sales & Operation Planning) zu sensibilisieren.

„Auch in diesem Projekt hat unsere Außensicht zu einem Paradigmenwechsel im Unternehmen geführt. Es galt langjährige Mitarbeiter – und ohne Zweifel absolute Experten auf ihrem Gebiet – von S&OP und der damit einhergehenden zeitgemäßen Planungslogik zu überzeugen.“, so Gregor Gluttig.

Heute wird der geplante Absatz in regelmäßigen S&OP-Meetings ermittelt und mit den Möglichkeiten der Produktion abgeglichen. Eine eigens geschaffene Supply Chain-Abteilung wurde in die Organisation integriert. Dort werden Änderungen im Absatz proaktiv antizipiert.

*On-Time In-Full

Einheitliche Reports und Kennzahlen wirken Engpässen in der Produktion entgegen. Ein vom Management getragener S&OP-Plan führt zu reduzierten Beständen sowie einer optimalen Auslastung der Produktion und last but not least zu einer resilienten Supply Chain.



< Zurück zur Übersicht