Menu Menu
DE | EN
Global Supply Chains in transition - Is regionalisation coming?

Global Supply Chains in transition - Is regionalisation coming?

 

Corona as a wake-up call

For more than a year, closely interlinked and coordinated global supply chains have been severely impacted by the coronavirus pandemic. Many companies are feeling the  consequences of the global division of labour. Bottlenecks in procurement, delivery delays and reduced transport capacities are leading to interruptions in production and higher costs in many places. The electronics and textile industries, as well as plant and mechanical engineering sectors, obtain their raw materials in the form of semi-finished goods sourced largely from Asia.

Experts agree that supply chains will be affected more frequently by various crises in the future. The recent blockade of the Suez Canal, the most important trade route between Asia and Europe, supports this assessment. Cyberattacks, punitive tariffs, and natural disasters are other events that companies must increasingly learn to expect. For many, this raises the question of how they can make their supply chain more crisis-proof.  

 

Regionalisation gains in importance

One approach that has been much discussed in recent months is regionalisation. Although the concept has been under discussion for several years, the coronavirus crisis has significantly increased focus on it. The reasons for this are complex. Legislators, consumers, and various other stakeholders are increasingly putting pressure on creating sustainability and transparency in supply chains. Negligence in climate and environmental protection, inhumane working conditions, and unethical business decisions should soon become visible as a result of the European supply chain law. In addition, ESG funds are increasingly arousing interest among investors. Those who blatantly ignore ecological and social aspects risk sanctions and enormous damage to their image which can fundamentally jeopardise the continued existence of companies. Regionality in procurement and production shortens the necessary transport routes and supply chains and sustainability and transparency can therefore be better guaranteed.

Another argument for more regionalisation is the generally increased volatility of demand. With shorter lead times, regional sources of supply allow for faster responsiveness to any fluctuations and lower inventories. The partial economic decoupling of the global trading world is an additional, essential aspect. Regionalisation creates new jobs in the region, which sustainably strengthens the business location.

 

Reshoring and nearshoring

During the first months of the pandemic, there was an extreme shortage of Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) and ventilators throughout Europe. The majority of system-relevant products are manufactured in Asia for cost reasons and could not be delivered due to interruptions in the supply chain.

As a consequence, production capacity was created in Austria and Europe to ensure security of supply. Another example of reshoring is the maintenance of the Novartis penicillin production facility in Tyrol. Despite higher production costs, the continuation of production in the country of origin is ensured by state and European subsidies.

But companies in other sectors, such as plant and mechanical engineering, are also pushing the creation of regional networks. Alternative procurement sources are being created through so-called nearshoring – the targeted development of supply sources in geographical proximity.

 

Supply chain goes ‘glocal’

Regional sources in production and procurement offer numerous advantages. However, the costs of relocating the entire production back to the region are often prohibitive. Apart from the financial perspective, there is a lack of production capacity in Europe for electronic goods, for example. Creating this capacity is a long-term process. In addition, complete regionalisation entails complete dependence on this one region and risks a standstill in the event of a breakdown.

Companies should therefore strive for ‘glocalisation’ and combine the advantages of regionalisation and globalisation. The supply chain network is diversified at the necessary points through additional options. The advantages of digital technologies cannot be dismissed. They create increased transparency in the supply chain, enable sound supply chain risk management, and help maintain high quality and delivery standards. A prerequisite for the successful implementation of new technologies is the creation of expertise within the company. The establishment of an internal supply chain department and the awareness of employees, for example through training, provide the necessary support.

In a digitalised supply chain, an early warning system allows timely countermeasures to be taken in the event of delivery delays or overseas bottlenecks. The rapid switch to alternative procurement sources from the region enables business processes to be maintained. This allows companies to make the best possible use of their internationally and regionally diversified supplier and production network. Transparency, flexibility, and costs are optimally balanced to create a resilient supply chain.

 



< back to overview

Menu Menu
DE | EN
Globale Lieferketten im Umbruch – Kommt es zu einer Regionalisierung?

Globale Lieferketten im Umbruch – Kommt es zu einer Regionalisierung?

 

Corona als Weckruf

Seit mehr als einem Jahr werden die eng verzahnten und aufeinander abgestimmten globalen Lieferketten stark durch Corona beeinträchtigt. Viele Unternehmen bekommen die Folgen der globalen Arbeitsteilung zu spüren. Engpässe in der Beschaffung, Lieferverzögerungen und reduzierte Transportkapazitäten führen vielerorts zu Unterbrechungen der Produktion sowie zu höheren Kosten. Die Elektronik- und Textilindustrie sowie der Anlagen- und Maschinenbau beziehen ihre Rohstoffe in Form von Halbfertigwaren überwiegend aus Asien.

Experten sind sich einig, dass Lieferketten zukünftig häufiger durch diverse Krisen beeinträchtigt werden. Die jüngste Blockade des Suezkanals, der wichtigsten Handelsroute zwischen Asien und Europa, untermauert diese Einschätzung. Cyberattacken, Strafzölle oder Naturkatastrophen sind weitere Ereignisse, mit denen Unternehmen vermehrt rechnen müssen. Für viele stellt sich daher die Frage, wie sie ihre Supply Chain krisensicherer gestalten können.  

 

Regionalisierung gewinnt an Bedeutung

Ein in den letzten Monaten vieldiskutierter Ansatz ist die Regionalisierung. Das Konzept ist zwar schon seit mehreren Jahren im Gespräch, Corona hat den Fokus darauf deutlich verstärkt. Die Gründe dafür sind vielschichtig. Seitens der Gesetzgeber, Konsumenten sowie anderer Stakeholder wird der Druck bezüglich Nachhaltigkeit und Transparenz in Supply Chains zunehmend erhöht. Nachlässigkeiten beim Klima- und Umweltschutz, menschenunwürdige Arbeitsbedingungen oder unethische Geschäftsentscheidungen sollen durch das Lieferkettengesetz bald sichtbar werden. Darüber hinaus wecken ESG-Fonds bei Anlegern vermehrt Interesse. Wer offenkundig ökologische und soziale Aspekte außen vorlässt, riskiert Sanktionen und einen enormen Imageschaden. Das kann den Fortbestand von Unternehmen grundlegend gefährden. Regionalität in der Beschaffung und Produktion verkürzt die notwendigen Transportwege und Lieferketten. Somit können Nachhaltigkeit und Transparenz besser gewährleistet werden.

Ein weiteres Argument für mehr Regionalisierung ist die generell gestiegene Volatilität der Nachfrage. Durch kürzere Vorlaufzeiten ermöglichen regionale Lieferquellen eine schnellere Reaktionsfähigkeit auf etwaige Schwankungen und geringere Bestände. Die teilweise wirtschaftliche Entkoppelung der globalen Handelswelt ist ein zusätzlicher, wesentlicher Aspekt. Durch Regionalisierung entstehen auch neue Arbeitsplätze in der Region, was den Wirtschaftsstandort nachhaltig stärkt.

 

Reshoring und Nearshoring

Während der ersten Monate der Pandemie herrschte in ganz Europa ein extremer Mangel an medizinischer Schutzbekleidung und Atemschutzmasken. Der Großteil systemrelevanter Produkte wird aus Kostengründen in Asien gefertigt und konnte aufgrund von Unterbrechungen nicht geliefert werden.

Als Konsequenz wurden in Österreich und Europa entsprechende Produktionskapazitäten geschaffen, um die Versorgungssicherheit zu gewährleisten. Ein weiteres Beispiel für Reshoring ist die Aufrechterhaltung der Novartis Penicillin-Produktionsstätte in Tirol. Trotz höherer Herstellungskosten wird das Fortbestehen der Produktion im Ursprungsland durch staatliche sowie europäische Subventionen gesichert.

Doch auch in anderen Branchen, wie beispielsweise im Anlagen- und Maschinenbau, forcieren Unternehmen die Schaffung regionaler Netzwerke. Alternative Beschaffungsquellen werden durch sogenanntes Nearshoring, dem gezielten Aufbau von Lieferquellen in geographischer Nähe geschaffen.

 

Supply Chain goes „glokal“

Regionale Quellen in Produktion und Beschaffung bieten zahlreiche Vorteile. Die Kosten für eine Rückverlagerung der kompletten Produktion sind jedoch oftmals nicht zu stemmen. Abgesehen von der finanziellen Perspektive, mangelt es beispielsweise bei Elektronikgütern an Produktionskapazitäten in Europa. Deren Aufbau ist ein langfristiger Prozess. Bei einer kompletten Regionalisierung besteht zudem eine vollständige Abhängigkeit von dieser einen Region und damit die Gefahr eines Stillstands bei einem Ausfall.

Unternehmen sollten daher eine "Glokalisierung" anstreben und die Vorteile von Regionalisierung und Globalisierung miteinander vereinen.  Das Supply Chain Netzwerk wird an den notwendigen Stellen durch zusätzliche Optionen diversifiziert. Die Vorteile digitaler Technologien sind dabei nicht von der Hand zu weisen. Sie schaffen eine erhöhte Transparenz in der Lieferkette, ermöglichen ein fundiertes Supply Chain Risk Management und helfen bei der Einhaltung hoher Qualitäts- und Lieferstandards. Voraussetzung für die erfolgreiche Implementierung neuer Technologien ist die Schaffung von Expertise in den eigenen Reihen. Der Aufbau von einer internen Supply Chain Abteilung und die Sensibilisierung der Mitarbeiter, zum Beispiel durch Schulungen, liefern die notwendige Unterstützung.

In einer digitalisierten Lieferkette kann durch ein Frühwarnsystem bei Lieferverzögerungen oder -engpässen aus Übersee zeitnah gegengesteuert werden. Das rasche Umschwenken auf alternative Beschaffungsquellen aus der Region ermöglicht die Aufrechterhaltung der Geschäftsprozesse. Somit können Unternehmen ihr international und regional diversifiziertes Lieferanten- und Produktionsnetz bestmöglich nutzen. Transparenz, Flexibilität und Kosten werden optimal ausbalanciert, um eine resiliente Supply Chain zu schaffen.



< Zurück zur Übersicht